Proverbs: What Matters Most

Wisdom Literature

Wisdom Literature

For the past 22 days my Pastor asked the congregation to study Proverbs since there are 31 chapters and 31 days in the month. He explained how Proverbs is full of wisdom and a manual for life. It provides instructions for everything from finding a mate, to how to treat your family, how to budget, how to fear the Lord and more importantly—what matters most.

I didn’t realize how much this challenge has had an impact on my spiritual life. It has caused me to crack open my Bible each day for one. Whereas I did stray away and was just reading my devotional thinking that was enough, reading proverbs everyday has peaked my hunger for knowledge again. I am continually reading and tying together previous scriptures I have read. Another advantage is that I am being cut. The word says “For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.” Hebrews 4:12 This is so true! I am reading like ooooh…..awwwwww…….ehhhh

BUT IT’S WORTH IT!

I want to be more like God so I am thankful to be reading this instruction manual at the beginning of my Christian walk.

A few scriptures that I have stood out to me thus far is:

Fear of the LORD is the foundation of true knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline 1:7

Wisdom will save you from evil people, from those whose words are twisted.2:12

Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding, Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.3:5-6

For the LORD sees clearly what a man does, examining every path he takes. 5:21

Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones. Learn from their ways and become wise! 6:6

I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.8:17

A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed 11:25

Commit your actions to the LORD, and your plans will succeed. 16:3

Houses and wealth are inherited from parents, but a prudent wife is from the LORD. 19:14

Don’t say, “I will get even for this wrong.” Wait for the LORD to handle the matter. 20:22

Don’t befriend angry people or associate with hot-tempered people, 22:24

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

